Delicious. Harvey Normam Produce Awards 2022

We were so thrilled to be announced as a trophy winner at this year's, Delicious. Harvey Norman Produce Awards, the country's most prestigious food industry campaign, which focuses on Australia’s best producers – the people who grow, cultivate, harvest and catch the produce supplied to the country’s leading chefs and hospitality venues

Delicious. Editorial Director Kerrie McCallum said:

“Since 2006, thedelicious.Harvey Norman Produce Awards has been at the forefront of championing the unsung heroes behind our top chefs and restaurateurs – Australia’s finest producers – and educating our readers on why it’s so important to #knowyourproducer. It is vital to support our farmers and small producers, many of whom have been affected by severe drought, devastating bushfires, COVID-19 and the floods in New South Wales and Queensland.

“This year, we wanted to discover the producers leading the field in their production ethos, cultivation and wild-catch practices, and the top-quality produce it results in. We’ve acknowledged producers with a focus on environmental sustainability, provenance, species diversity, preservation and collaboration with the local community.

“Congratulations to all of our outstanding winners. I thank each of our Judges and our expert Governing Board for their enthusiasm and contribution to the Awards.

“I would also like to thank our awards partner Harvey Norman for their continued commitment, and Vic’s Premium Quality Meat for collaborating on this year’s Produce To You box.

“After hosting our awards ceremony virtually for the past two years, I’m so excited to join chef Matt Moran at Chiswick Woollahra for a stunning dinner to celebrate this year’s winners. I’m delighted that ourdelicious.readers will have the chance to join us for the celebrations.”

Harvey Norman Executive Chairman Gerry Harvey said:

“Great food experiences, at home or in restaurants, start with the best produce. Australia is blessed with an abundance of the world’s most exceptional producers: from vegie growers to those tending livestock or harvesting fresh seafood. It is this diversity of talent that translates into flavour, as producers – especially those recognised as part of thedelicious.Harvey Norman Produce Awards – are increasingly ensuring their production techniques are seasonal, sustainable and innovative.

“We are proud to partner withdelicious.on this important program that recognises and celebrates exceptional talent in Australia’s food production industry.”

A total of 18 trophies were awarded by the National Judging panel, which includes some of Australia’s most renowned chefs, including Josh Niland, Lennox Hastie, Matt Stone, Jo Barrett, Matt Moran, Andrew McConnell, Peter Gilmore and Alla Wolf-Tasker, with winners across four major categories – Dairy, Earth, Paddock and Sea.

The overall Producer of the Year Award, presented by Harvey Norman, was awarded to Rocky Point Aquaculture from QLD.

Matt Moran said:

“I feel so proud to be part of these Awards. Each year, I’m blown away by the quality of produce that we taste. It is vital that we acknowledge and support our Australian producers who work tirelessly to deliver outstanding produce. This year’s Producer of the Year, Rocky Point Aquaculture, impressed us with their world-class sustainability practices and the top quality produce that these practices are resulting in.”

The expert Governing Board includes Awards Patron Maggie Beer, Christine Manfield, Guillaume Brahimi, Shannon Bennett, Colin Fassnidge, Martin Benn, Vicki Wild, Ross Lusted, Sunny Lusted, Neil Perry, Kylie Kwong and Mike Bennie.

The Governing Board oversees the decisions of the awards, including In the Bottle (Alcoholic); In the Bottle (No-Lo); Outstanding Viticulturist; Outstanding Innovation; Outstanding Design; Outstanding Native Producer; Outstanding Region; Outstanding Artisan; Unearthed Next-Gen Chef; Unearthed Next-Gen Producer; Outstanding Farmers’ Market (Readers’ Choice); Outstanding Farmers’ Market Community Initiative and the Maggie Beer Award for Outstanding Contribution to Australian Food.